Hannibal Rising by Thomas Harris

28 Feb

hannibal.jpg

Right off, I have to say that I love this book.

I have been waiting, along with many others, for years to find out how Hannibal Lecter became what he became. I wanted to know what caused his transformation into one of the most frightening killers in literature (and the movies) known to man.

I was thrilled beyond words to hear that Harris was writing a new book and that a new movie based on the book was in production. I knew that Harris was writing the screenplay. Aside from that, I knew nothing. I wanted, needed to know more.

Now that I do, what can I say except that knowledge is power.

Despite bad reviews (of the movie and the book), I loved HANNIBAL RISING. It’s a beautiful haunting work that stays with you long after you have read it. It’s not just a simple tale of revenge, but one of lust and wanting, of judgement and secrets that is beautifully written. Harris uses quick short sentences to instill images into your mind, to show you the change Hannibal goes through to become what he is.

Personally, I think others are none to pleased with Hannibal Rising mostly because they were expecting another Silence of the Lambs. Hannibal Rising is really historical fiction, seeing as how most of it is set right after the second world war. I knew that there couuld be no book like Silence of the Lambs, that Hannibal would probably be a quieter, subtler book.

I was half right.

There is beauty in the blood here; the harrowing images of death are subdued and gorgesouly written but most shocking is that you feel empathy towards Hannibal Lecter. Knowing what I know now of his character, is it any wonder why he became a monster?

Judgement and revenge come in many forms.

I think that’s what puts most people off about the novel. You feel sorry for him, sorry for Hannibal Lecter. You come away wondering if you would have done the same, had someone eaten your little sister. You come away wondering if you have a monster waiting to rise up.

Even mosnters have feelings, no matter how inhuman they may seem.

HANNIBAL RISING is probably one of the most beautiful books I have ever read. Hannibal Lecter will stay with me for a long time and I can’t wait to read the tale of his beginning all over again.

Leave a Reply

