The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

2 Mar

wizard.jpg

The other night, I had the pleasure of reading an old favorite all over again: The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.  

I had read it as a child and then once more years ago. But it’s always been one of those books that no bookshelf is complete without. So I keep replacing older copies with newer ones as the older copies get passed on to others. I have yet to read any of the other of the original 14 OZ books written by L. Frank Baum; I’ll get to them eventually. But for now, The Wizard of Oz remains an all time favorite.  

While reading it last night and finishing it this morning, I was reminded of the power of the Fairy Tale. Baum sought to rewrite the modern fairy tale and write something fantastical. The Wizard of Oz certainly was that when it was published in 1900. But I find it interesting that the book has stood the test of time and remained a classic in early fantasy.  

I love the book because it has so many themes running through it, so many parables to real life. It’s also incredibly violent and grim, making it completely different than the much loved sugary sweet movie version starring Judy Garland. The book has more depth than the movie as there are darker things here; darker beings, darker moments. Dorothy and her friends have to face more than the Wicked Witch of the West.  

What struck me most while reading The Wizard of Oz was how giddy I felt while reading it, how much I felt like a kid, how much I remembered enjoying it as a child and how much I had enjoyed it now. I felt like I was rediscovering an old friend, one that will never let you down.  

I for one am glad I took another stroll down the

Yellow Brick Road

. How about you do the same? Just ask for Dorothy when you get there.

Leave a Reply

