Angelic by Kelley Armstrong

16 Feb

 

I love Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld novels, but I’m not a huge fan of special limited edition novels or books. They are usually books that you pay a good deal of money for and can’t really carry around with you for fear of damaging the book.

Thankfully, I didn’t have that problem with Angelic by Kelley Armstrong. It’s short, just under one hundred pages, so it was an hours worth of glorious reading. I enjoyed it so much that I read it two times in a row.

In Angelic, Armstrong returns to having Eve Levine narrate her story. Tired of letting the Fates push her around, she sets about trying to get herself fired from her otherworldly job but in the end gets herself in a heap of trouble. Though she has good intentions, she proves that, if anything, she is far from angelic…

What I love about Armstrong’s writing is its strength of voice. Each of her narrators sound different and no character is the same. Even better, the stories are engaging and speed by at a fast pace.

 Angelic is no different. Though it’s a short read, it feels like a whole novel. You’ve got all the emotional highs and lows of a full length read packed into a handful of pages. Angelic is a wonderful read from start to finish and it left me wanting more of Eve.

I’ve missed her as a narrator of the series and it was like I was visiting with an old friend. While I wish there had been more to the story, I will take what I can get.

And read it as many times as possible.

Leave a Reply

